Age Discrimmination filed with Human Relations

Well, I was delivered the paperwork yesturday for a face to face hearing with Human Relations. Can't tell you how much that made my day! The charges were filed from an employee we laid off back in May. There were 10 in total who were left go ... mixed combo of men and women,ages from 29 - 55, all different pay levels and all different seniority levels. She claims she was left go because of her age. I love how they always need someone to blame for their problems (sorry, just a little venting!)I've contacted our attorney and also our business liability insurance carrier immediately.

This is my first time with this, so I am sure you can imagine how overwhelming all of this is. I was wondering what else I should be doing if anything. Also, have any of you experienced this before and what can I expect? In the paperwork, they make it seem as if we're already guilty.

Thanks!

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • What were the reasons for the reduction? The best defense against an age discrimination complaint is to show there were sound business reasons for the action taken. Already, age is a broad spectrum in your group. If you present a sound reason for the lay-off, she must show this reason is a pretext and the real reason is discrimination. That is a fairly difficult burden. Aside from this, you must beware of remarks made by yourself or other management persons that could relate to age. Further, have you, or do you intend to replace this person with a younger person? That is a red flag. If the laid off person is not replaced by a younger person, it is harder yet to prove discrimination. So do your homework on business reasons and get ready. Good luck.