Cost of administration and/or litigation

I am looking for figures on the average (or ballpartk)cost to defend a case whereby an employer doesn't comply with regulations or processes (ie., FMLA, ADA, COBRA, and FLSA case).

What is the cost to administer such programs? I am having trouble finding research.

As a consultant, I want to express to client employers how important an HR service is, and how we can keep them out of trouble. I need to quantify this HR service and be prepared to site cases when possible.

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I don't think that you will find any research which means that you may have to do your own. The cost of losing a case is more that just the settlement or the judgement. It is the legal expenses, probably for both sides in a loss, plus all the time that people have to spend providing information so that the attorneys can prepare the case, going to depositions etc. What is the cost of these individuals not doing their job because they are spending a lot of time on the case. If I were doing this, I would contact a few HR friends and get an estimate of the amount of time all the people at their company spent on the case, multiply that by their salary, then add all the other stuff. You may have to work around the fact that some settlements and judgements are confidential. Given all the time that individuals have to spend working on the case, a win or a settlement is still very costly. This sounds like I spend a lot of time in litigation. As an HR person, I don't, but I have a lot of expert witness experience.