Health care question

I have a single employee, currently enrolled in our health plan, who is getting married to someone who does not work with us in April. He wants to drop our health insurance group plan in favor of joining his bride's when he gets married. But he has asked our business owner if the boss would be willing to pay his new wife's monthly premium. He's arguing that it would be cheaper for the company to do this instead of carrying him and his wife on our health care, and our boss likes the idea

Is this legit? Or are we going down a road we don't want to travel. I'm not an HR expert, just the poor guy assigned to these duties in the office, and I really could use some guidance.

Thanks

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I have read this several times and must admit that I do not quite get the picture. Sorry if that means I'm dense. [:P]

The EE is dropping out of your plan.

The EE will join his brides health plan

Yet the EE wants your company to pay for the brides coverage for a plan outside of your company.

Is that it or am I missing something?

• Essentially what this would boil down to would be your company giving your employees a raise in the amount of the wife's insurance as you wouldn't be able to actually pay her insurance at her company.  I can't see any problem with it, outside of it opening this opportunity to all of your employees.  Not just medical but if a spouse's dental, vision, disability, etc. is less expensive then they could ask for the same treatment.

It sounds like either your employee only coverage is very expensive or her insurance is very inexpensive.  To have an Employee + 1 coverage be less than Employee Only is pretty rare.