New FMLA Regs

I just wanted to see what everone thinks/feels about the new FMLA changes. 

I am new to the FMLA scene and thoughts about not designating a leave correctly or in time keeps me up at night :)  Have a great Day!

Comments

• 12 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Luckily, the new regulations don't take effect until Jan. 16, 2009.  At least we have a little time to digest the 762 page document (about 200 pages of actual regulations) the DOL issued.  My initial read is that some things are clarified, like what  a "qualifying exigency" is for family military leave, while others are a bit harder to understand, like how to calculate leave when military leave and FMLA overlap--not to mention state law leave requirements.  I think HR people will need a lot of guidance to get clear on all of this! 

• There are some good points and things that still didn't get cleared up.  There will probably be a lot of information coming out in the next few weeks on this. I know that this website (hr.blr.com) has put together some articles.  SHRM is having a webinar on this on Dec 3rd.  A couple of the national law firms that usually do free webinars on major changes like this are talking about having free webinars as well.  As I hear of some of these I will post on here about them. 

Here is an article I read today that had some good information:

http://www.jacksonlewis.com/legalupdates/article.cfm?aid=1563

One of the other things that is going to come into play is with the changes in ADA AA.  Since more people are going to qualify under the ADA, it will be interesting to see how the FMLA and the new ADA AA play together.  I was on a webinar the other day about the ADA AA and the attorney was stating that there is going to be employees that use up their 12 weeks of FMLA and then can go on with more leave that is considered a reasonable accomodation under the ADA AA.