Help with Employee Personnel Filing

I am somewhat new to HR and new to the company I am employed at.  My first project is making sure our employee personnel files are in order.  Can someone direct me to a website or point me in the direction of a guideline of what folders I should have set up for each employee and what should be contained in each folder?  Thank you!

Comments

• 16 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • If you have a membership to this website, HR.blr.com, they have some good information.  If you don't then you may want to look into it.  They have a lot of good information for those that are new to HR.

Just as a general guideline here are some of the things that should be in the file - application, job description, offer letter, pay plan or change in pay information, performance reviews, acknowledgement for handbook, etc.

Things that should not be - medical records (should be in a separate file, I also put my benefits information in this file), I-9s (should be in a separate file, I actually have mine in a binder), garnishments, confidential investigations (like sexual harassment).

• What about Unemployment Info? When we get the notice of a claim from the State of Illinois - should those go into the individual employee file or should they all be kept together in a separate binder (like the I-9's)? We have about 90-100 seasonal employees who start work in the Spring & get laid off in the fall for the winter months. Every year they all collect unemployment for the 3-4 months they are laid off so I have tons of these notices.
  • Where do you keep the result of a background investigation?

Thank you!

• We are going to start having applicants complete a number of things online, when they come in to apply, including their application and a personality profile.  If the applicant is hired, does anyone know if it is necessary to file a paper copy of the application in their personnel file, if the electronic copy is available online?