Giving an EE a copy of his EE file

I am not an HR professional and this is a small company; has only been in business about 5yrs.  On Tuesday, we gave out new employee handbooks (this company has never had an employee handbook).  It isn't very thorough and now, I am being bombarded by all sorts of questions from 'what is the policy on ee tools/er tools' to 'why do I have to accrue sick time b/f I use it' and then someone asked "can I get a copy of my employee file"...So my question is "what do I give him"....everything?<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

Comments

• 15 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Law on personnel files and what the employee MUST have access to are state specific. What state are you in?

• Hi, I am in Santa Monica, California.
  • Hi Sheila:

California law requires that employees may, at reasonable times and intervals, inspect any of their personnel files relating to the employee's performance or to any grievance concerning the employee. Specifically, such records include applications, payroll authorization forms, notices of commendation, warning, discipline, or termination; notices of layoff, leave of absence, or vacation; notices of wage attachment or garnishment; education and training records; performance reviews; and attendance records. Employers are not required to disclose records relating to the investigation of possible criminal offenses; letters of reference; or ratings, reports, or records that were obtained prior to the employee's employment, prepared by identifiable examination committee members, or obtained in connection with a promotional examination. Former employees have the right of inspection until the statute of limitations on any claims they may have against their former employer expires.

Access to records need not be during work time. However, employers must:

• Keep a copy of each employee's personnel file at the employee's workplace;