PHR Test

Good Afternoon,

Im currently enrolled in a class to take my PHR test. Im using the Shrm learning system. Can anyone tell me anything else that would be useful to prepare for this exam?  Also I understand the importance of having this, but can someone give me real life example of how it helped you?

thanks!

Comments

• 13 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I took the test last June.  I think there might have been changes to how the test works.  All I can tell you is that the best approach to when I took it was to read and re-read those practice tests over and over again. 

Oh and good luck (I've been in HR 8 years now and didn't even need to study much at all - I passed with a good score)

• I took the SPHR and passed about 2 years ago.  It wasn't hard for me, but I have about 20 years experience.

Having the letters after my name hasn't helped me directly, but indirectly I believe that people have been more "respectful" of my answers to their questions.  It's like I took the test, got some initials, and that somehow indicates to the world that I now have a brain.  :)

• I received my PHR several years ago.  I had experience generalist experience and recruitment experience.  Up to that point I had a hard time breaking through to a management position.  Shortly after recieving the designation I applied an HR Director Position overseeing multiple corporations with a "PHR preferred" in the job description, and I was offered the position.  The designation just reinforced to the employer  (who was aware of SHRM & the designation) that I am competent in the HR field.