Sexual Harassment and Termination

I have a male employee who told another employee a story about his son's sex life.  The story was very graphic.  This occured only once but it was one month ago,  I just found out about it today. 

I am new to the company and just sent out a new Sexual Harassment Policy; however, this was after this incident occured.

My question is can I terminate the employee who made the comment?  

Due to the fact that I am new to the company, I am unsure about whether he signed an employee handbook acknowledgement form.  It is not in his personnel file.  He did sign the Sexual Harrassment Acknowledgement form just this week. In addition I know that my company has not been through Sexual Harassment Training in a long time.  I know the employee who told the story has not been through training.  Can we terminate or just issue a written warning?

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I wouldn't fire him if there was no written or formal policy or any training in place when he told the story.  However, the story was inappropriate, so I would give him a written warning with verbiage to state that one more occurrence may results in termination.  <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

He has been trained now, so anything going forward is a violation of the policy and subject to consequences.

It's hard to retroactively enforce a policy.  It sounds like he's an employee you may want to keep an eye on though.

Good luck!

• it doesn't sound like anyone filed a complaint...i would point out your policy on sexual harassment and issue him a verbal warning - and make sure you document it and put it in his file