SHRM-HRCI split

In case you haven't heard, in May SHRM announced that it was developing its own credentialing system apart from HRCI ([URL="http://www.hrhero.com/hl/articles/2014/07/16/shrm-hrci-rift-what-does-it-mean-for-hr-professionals/"]read the HR Hero Line article about the split[/URL]). That means that all of you who worked so hard to get a PHR, SPHR, or GPHR will now have to decide if you want to sit for the test to get the SHRM equivalent (SHRM says if you already have one of the HRCI certifications, you won't have to pay to take the new test).

I sat for the SPHR last year and it was one of the more grueling tests/test preps I have ever been through (and I have a master's degree). I was not happy when I first heard that SHRM would be asking me to take another test--especially when the thing I found so hard about the SPHR was learning what our test prep classes referred to as "the SHRM way" (basically, don't answer the questions by what you know to be true from HR experience, think about how SHRM wants to you to answer the test). It sounds like SHRM plans to make the test to "convert" the PHR/SPHR/GPHR to the new certification pretty easy, but I still don't like the idea.

What do you think? Does anyone plan to sit for the new test? Has anyone been thinking about taking one of the HRCI tests but is now reconsidering?

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • So far it hasn't been crucial to my career to have that certification and I didn't want to put myself through the test, which I've heard from a number of people can be really tough, so I've never taken it.