Touching at Work

Is touching at work more prevalent during the recession (pats on the back, hugs of encouragement, etc.)? In HR, is there ever a time when you would let down your guard and put your hand on an employee's shoulder? How do you deal with EE "touchers" who touch too much and "touchees" who complain? Today's Wall Street Journal has interesting article on the subject: "Touching You, Touching Me -- at Work." Here is a link. tk

[B][URL]http://tinyurl.com/n3v6ey[/URL][/B]

Comments

• 20 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I had a former co-worker who was a masseuse and loved to rub all the female workers' shoulders and necks. It was creepy, mainly because he was creepy.

Our CEO is a touchy feely guy, especially with women... I am the last person to think someone is being inappropriate with me, but there have been times that he went too far - like after saying how nice I look, don't pat me down like a prison guard.

I'm not a proponent of random touching at work but it is sad that people have to be afraid of a lawsuit when they are merely being empathetic or sympathetic.
  • Personally, I am not a big toucher under most circumstances. Warm and friendly, yes, touchy-feely, no. Once or twice there has been an occasion where someone who was leaving hugged me, and I have one colleague who I only see about once a year who always hugs everybody when he sees them, but under ordinary circumstances I steer clear of physical contact with my co-workers, outside of shaking their hand when I first meet them.