Salaried manager working second hourly job

I have a salaried manager who wants to work some extra hours on the week-end in a non-exempt job. Do I have to pay him overtime, and if so, how do I calculate what rate to pay?

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • In my humble opinion, this is not a good idea to mix exempt and non-exempt hours. Number One - you are not paying an exempt person by the hour, so this would not enter into the overtime equation. Two, you would be paying by the hour solely on the non-exempt hours. What happens when he claims his hours for his exempt and non-exempt hours overlap? Just better not to do this.

When I worked in a hospital, we often had individuals such as nurse managers wanting to work as a floor nurse on the weekends. This was not allowed as it was difficult to make the break between being a manager and purely a floor nurse. We were advised this could jeopardize the entire exempt status of the employee and cause the hospital to have to pay overtime on all hours worked.

I'd just stay away from this potential problem if I were you.

• > Number One - you are not paying an exempt person by
    > the hour, so this would not enter into the overtime equation.

Better check on this. Whether they are paid by the hour or not, IF there is any requirement or "expectation" that they work a certain number of hours for their salaries, then those hours become a base for any secondary job, I believe.
  • I'll answer your question with an example:

Many, many years ago I was the District Manager of a large retail clothing store, that had many divisions.

Because we offered such a liberal clothing discount, and all of our divisions had very different styles of clothing, we occasionally had a full time employee that wanted to work part-time at a store in the other division for the discount.