Same EE, new problem...HELP

I recently posted about a possible termination that we were having trouble with. Now I have a rather stupid question, but a really important one given the time restraints.

Can anyone tell me whether this statement is true? I'm a newbie, and trying to make sense of it all.

"If an employee does not request leave, whether named as FMLA or otherwise, he cannot later come back and accuse the employer of violating his FMLA rights."

The employee in question was simply absent and never requested leave, but he was out for 3 consecutive days for a serious injury. I am assuming that if leave in any shape or form was never requested, he doesn't have an FMLA claim, right?

Comments

• 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • NeedCoffee, no question is stupid! We were all new once, and even as we become not-so-new, there are still things we've never experienced before. That's the great thing about the forum - we can learn from each other's experience without having to go through it ourselves.

Actually, it is our responsibility as employers to designate leave as FMLA, so your statement is not necessarily true. Look at it this way - I had an EE who was in a serious car accident. He lost several members of his family, and he suffered broken bones and a head injury. He still hasn't "asked" his leave to be declared as FML, but of course as soon as we were notified, I prepared the paperwork and sent it out.

[url]http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ESA/Title_29/Part_825/29CFR825.302.htm[/url]