Bonus Plans

Hi my name is Carol and I'm new to the Employers Forum. I am the HR Director for a mortgage banker in California. We are in the process of instituting a bonus plan for all our employees. My boss has in mind a "pay for performance" kind of arrangement. This would include sales as well as administrative. Does anyone have an annual or semi-annual bonus plan they could share with me. He's got some really far out ideas that I know won't fly with the staff so I really need some help in being fair and equitable with this plan.

Thanks so much for any assistance you can give.
Carol :)

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Hi Carol,

Welcome to the forum. You will get some great advice and camraderie here. Hopefully one of the forum administrators will move your post to the general employment or wage and hour section where you will get more responses.

Paul
  • Thanks Paul - hopefully they will - where did I post this? I thought I was in the main forum, but guess not huh?

Carol
  • Hi Carol. Here is what we do as an electronics manufacturer. Every quarter we rank all employees by department and this ranking is used for several purposes. One is bonus distribution. We then simply divide each department into 3rds, top, middle and bottom. Those falling in the top third get the largest bonus, in the middle a little bit less and the bottom dwellers get the least. Those who were hired during the year get a pro-rated amount based on which 3rd they are in. Relatively simple.

• Thanks Ray - sounds easy enough ~ probably too easy for my complicated boss. :)
  • Glad to see you here!

We have a very simplistic bonus plan:

1) If the company does not make a profit no one including our CEO can expect any type of bonus.

2) We have a set amount for each of these categories: Officers, Directors, Supervisors, Everyone else