Completing performance evaluations

Good Morning/Afternoon to all: I would like to know how fellow HR people get their managers to complete EE evaluations on time. I am fairly new to this postion and am finding it difficult for managers to complete their EE evals in a timley manner. As it is, we give them 30 days after the EE's anniversary date to perform the eval. It is like pulling teeth! Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Comments

• 12 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Gismo, this is a universal problem, but I've had some success dealing with it. Having a good working relationship with, and having the respect of the supervisors goes a long way. I require the performance reviews to be done by the employee's anniversary date. I have the reviews in the supervisors' hands two weeks before the start of the month in which they are due with the due date clearly written on the front of the review. As an employee's anniversary date approaches let the supervisor(s) know that it's getting close and, boy, it would be nice not to have to calculate backpay if it's late. (I like to keep the tone goodnatured. It works for me.)

A tip to the wise here is this: Gain the reputation of one who responds quickly, if not immediately, to supervisors' needs. To me they are the most important people in a company, and I treat them as such. I make it known to them that I am here to support them and make their jobs easier and I try and do just that. I very seldom have late reviews come across my desk. On rare occassion it happens, but it is accommpanied with a very heartfelt apology and a promise that, "It won't happen again."

Good luck!!
  • Our evaluations are on a calendar-year basis, which makes it easier because they all must be completed at the same time. While they grumble a bit, they do like setting aside a block of time and completing them all at once rather than throughout the year.