"Guiding a supervisor"

Several of our supervisors have a tendancy to judge an employees work by how much they like them, not the job performance. I have emotional reactions that are destructive, and not handed out equaly across the organization, that continue to be an almost weekly issue. I am looking for some productive way to "guide" these supervisors into giving each employee some support and assistance, not smashing and bashing based on "the flavor of the month". By the way, this is a healthcare facilty, where we are facing a critical shortage. I strongly support our clinical staff, they are true assets here, supervisors need to stick with true disciplinary actions, not fluff that just aggravates the staff. Any suggestion, or concrete guidelines that could be offered that would assist in leveling the playing field for the staff?
thanks

by the way, as a non nurse, i can be considered one step above a receptionist by some of the managers, i need to play REALLY nice here:)

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added

• I'm not going to be much help because we have the same problem with pharmacists. There is a severe shortage of them and they can pretty much write their own ticket. Some of our store have only one pharmacist and if he/she gets upset and walks, we would probably have to close the store. So, it is always an exercise in diplomacy to iron out problems the techs, ancillaries have with the pharmacists. Though there are some behaviors that can't be tolerated such as the call I just received regarding a pharmacy manager using profanity. I'll be interested in what others have to suggest.

Elizabeth
  • What is your position within the company (HR Manager, HR Director, etc.) and who do you report to (CFO, CEO, etc.)? The managers may consider you one step above, but the executives may not.