Policies for job jumpers

I want to start off by expressing my sorrow for all Americans and especially those directly affected by this tragedy. This is a time for all of us to work together and to remember what it means to be a true American. While it is hard for me to focus on work with this in mind, I have a question.

I work in the blacktop maintanance business. It is our current practice to make any employee who leaves not on good standing to wait one year before we will consider rehire. My question is regarding employees leaving on good terms and wanting to come back. If an employee gives the two weeks, we enjoyed having him or her as an employee, and their new job just does not work out for them, should we just let them back? I don't want to set a policy that will encourage employees to leave because they know that we will take them back nomatter what. My thoughts are to have them re-apply, going through the interviews and being weighed against any new applicants. I also thought to consider a time limit, for instance within 30 days of leaving, they can come back with no penalty. If anyone has any thoughts, I would appreciate hearing them.

Regards from Wisconsin,
Aaron

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I would simply say that they'll be considered alongside other applicants. I wouldn't give them any preferences or grace periods. Employees leave because they're unhappy with their jobs. If they quit and come back to the same job, the things that made them unhappy will still be there. I think you'd want to give yourself the flexibility to decide on a case-by-case basis whether to rehire someone and what job to put them in.

James Sokolowski
    Senior Editor
    M. Lee Smith Publishers